News:

Welcome to the WM Buses in Photos Forum! New and existing members are kindly reminded to respect and abide by the Forum Rules that are in place here.

Main Menu

Are Arriva going to fail in the west midlands

Started by bwsau cymru, March 29, 2013, 07:27:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

what do people think arriva will do with there new midland buses. there is a vast amount of negative attitude towards arriva so lets put it to the poll

Yes they will fail
6 (20.7%)
No they wont fail
17 (58.6%)
The company will reduce is size but will still keep running
8 (27.6%)

Total Members Voted: 29

Voting closed: April 26, 2013, 08:27:34 PM

bwsau cymru

campaigning for better transport for all

Stu

I have no experience of using either Arriva (except in London) or Midland's buses/services, but all I will say is that Arriva must have some long-term plan in place. No great strides were ever going to be made overnight (remember Rome wasn't built in a day!).

By leasing the depot at Hill Top, and winning tenders on several Black Country services, Arriva gained themselves a foothold, to test the waters so to speak.

Then by acquiring Midland, not a major player by any means, they've gained a permanent depot, and a network of established services, to gain a further foothold.

Forget what everyone says about the standard/quality of the fleet they have at present, the fact is Arriva have arrived, and will slowly build up the business they have in this area, by acquiring further tendered contracts, and maybe then start introducing new commercial services, depending on how matters progress.

The likes of National Express West Midlands might not have much to worry about, but it is the likes of Diamond, and other small operators, who might need to start looking over their shoulders.
My locals:
2 - Birmingham to Maypole | 3 - Birmingham to Yardley Wood
11A/C - Birmingham Outer Circle | 27 - Yardley Wood to Frankley
76 - Solihull to Northfield | 169 - Solihull to Kings Heath