News:

Please do have a browse through the forums or use the Search functionality before posting a new topic - chances are there is already a discussion underway on that subject, or your question has already been answered previously!

Main Menu

Taking Bus Photo's

Started by 4006, July 20, 2012, 11:01:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi I'm after a new camera (one that will be good for taking bus pics obviously) only not sure which one to invest in. I'm no pro so just a simple point and shoot jobby with a decent zoom which is good at taking pictures 'on the move' will do and I don't want to spend loads of cash (Budget 100-200GBP) Currently have a finepix300 which is ok but the distortion is terrible. I would appreciate any info/advice to assist with my purchase!!
Enviro 200 Rebels......Venturing Out Into New Territory's!!

Ashley

I have a Nikon Coolpix S3100 which I use for taking bus photos, its only a compact but the pictures turn out mostly okay, compacts are probably better for still shots of buses rather than moving ones

Tony

Quote from: Ashley on July 22, 2012, 05:23:50 PM
I have a Nikon Coolpix S3100 which I use for taking bus photos, its only a compact but the pictures turn out mostly okay, compacts are probably better for still shots of buses rather than moving ones

Yes, because you cannot normally set the shutter speed on a compact, other than put it on 'sport' setting compacts tend to do perfect moving photos in good light (sunny), but can come out blurred in poorer light as the camera will automatically reduce the shutter speed. With an SLR you can lock the camera's shutter speed, but in poor light the focal length (F-setting) will then drop instead meaning less of the photograph is in perfect focus

Ashley

I'mh hoping to upgrade to an SLR ideally in the not too distant future once I feel comfortable using a compact without the funny looks or comments you get when your a bus enthusiast

windy miller